Four CSWS faculty affiliates among UO’s 2016 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Award winners

Gabriela Martinez

Gabriela Martinez

See story in Around the O

Four CSWS faculty affiliates are among the recipients of the University of Oregon’s 2016 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Award. They are:

  • Lara Bovilsky, associate professor in the Department of English.
  • Gabriela Martínez, associate professor in the School of Journalism and Communication and who served the past three academic years as CSWS associate director.
  • Ellen McWhirter, Ann Swindells Professor in the Department of Counseling Psychology.
  • Naomi Zack, professor in the Department of Philosophy.

The awards recognize university classified staff, faculty and officers of administration whose contributions to the campus community, beyond typical job expectations, also uphold and exemplify ideals supported by Martin Luther King, Jr. This year’s Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Awards winners were selected based on nominations from campus colleagues.

Our congratulations to this year’s recipients, who also include Kevin Marbury and Darren Johnson. All will be honored at an awards ceremony on January 20 at the Ford Alumni Center Ballroom.