Frances White & Monique Balbuena named as University Senate 2018 award recipients

May 31, 2018—Two long-time CSWS faculty affiliates—Frances J. White and Monique R, Balbuena—are among six UO faculty & staff named as 2018 award recipients by the the University Senate.

The Wayne T. Westling Award went to Frances J. White, professor and department head, anthropology; senator; member of the Senate Executive Committee; co-chair of the Academic Council; and chair, UO Committee on Courses.

Frances White

“This award is given for exemplary service to the university over a period of years through participation in university committees, advisory bodies or faculty elective positions and for inspired leadership and commitment to the principles of shared governance, participatory decision-making and fostering a campus climate of inclusiveness and respect,” stated an article in Around the O.

Monique Balbuena

Monique Rodrigues Balbuena, associate professor, Clark Honors College; senator; and member of the Policy Advisory Council was among three winners of the Shared Governance, Transparency, and Trust Award.

“This award represents the Senate’s interest in encouraging the proliferation of trust, transparency and shared governance with the university administration. It is given to the administrator or other member of the UO community who has best exemplified the values of trust, transparency and shared governance during the year,” said the article.

All four awards will be presented at the final Senate meeting of the academic year Wednesday, June 6, in the Erb Memorial Union’s Redwood Auditorium. Colleagues and friends of the recipients are invited to attend.

For the full list of award recipients and the full story, go to: University Senate names six 2018 award recipients / Around the O