Gash, Raiskin and Hames-Garcia receive 2020 Distinguished Teaching Awards

CSWS congratulates three faculty affiliates who have won the UO’s prestigious Distinguished Teaching Awards. The awards are presented every spring to faculty members who are nominated by the campus community based on their demonstration of exceptional teaching that is inclusive, engaged and research-led.

Michael Hames-Garcia, Indigenous, Race and Ethnic Studies, received the Herman Faculty Achievement Award for Distinguished Teaching. The award recognizes faculty members who are in at least their seventh year of teaching and have shown consistent teaching talent and a contribution to learning over the course of their career.

Judith Raiskin, Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies, and Alison Gash, Political Science, received the Herman Award for Specialized Pedagogy, which honors senior career faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in a specific area of instruction.

Traditionally, award recipients are surprised with a hand-delivered apple made of crystal or myrtlewood. However, this year’s seven award recipients won’t be able to hold their apples until sometime in the fall, if social-distancing restrictions allow. But appreciation of their distinction will not have to wait.

“We cannot thank you enough for the incredibly important work you do educating our students,” UO President Michael Schill and Provost and Senior Vice President Patrick Phillips said in letters sent to the seven faculty members by email last week. “Your efforts and the quality of your work are very much appreciated by your students, your faculty colleagues, and the university community.”

Adapted from the full story in Around the O.

Michael-Hames Garcia
Judith Raiskin
Alison Gash