SOJC Professor Leslie Steeves Wins a 2013 UO Martin Luther King, Jr., Award

SteevesH. Leslie Steeves is one of seven winners of the UO’s 2013 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Award. Steeves, professor  and associate dean of Graduate Affairs and Research, UO School of Journalism and Communication, is also a long-time CSWS faculty affiliate. CSWS has helped fund her case study of the One Laptop Per Child Project and information and communication technologies in Ghana.

The awards recognize university classified staff, faculty and officers of administration whose contributions to the campus community, beyond typical job expectations, also uphold and exemplify ideals supported by Martin Luther King, Jr. This year’s Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Awards winners were selected based on nominations from campus colleagues.

2013 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Award Winners
  •  Professor H. Leslie Steeves, School of Journalism and Communication
  •  Julie Dewsnup, University Health Center
  •  Tim McMahon, Center on Diversity and Community, and Holden Center
  •  Peg Rees, Physical Education and Recreation
  •  Gail Unruh, Teaching and Learning Center
  •  Lorri Nelson, Department of Landscape Architecture
  •  Robin Seloover, Department of Landscape Architecture

UO President Michael Gottfredson presented the awards to recipients at the Dr. King Award luncheon in the EMU Ballroom on January 24.